in

LoveLove WTFWTF

19+ Books For Men In Their 30’s | Books Every 30 Something Man Should Read

Your thirties are a challenging time. You’ve been out of school for a good amount of time now, perhaps you have your own place, you’ve got a career started… You might even be considering starting a family.

Here are 20 books that every man in their 30’s should read.

This post contains affiliate links. Affiliate disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, we may earn commissions from qualifying purchases from Amazon.com and other Amazon websites.

#1 Wake Up And Smell The Coffee: The imperative of teams

No Title

No Description

The deconstruction of the traditional workplace hierarchy, the abandonment of performance appraisal, and the impact of millennials/generations Y and Z all point to a substantial revival of teams and teamwork for the first time in more than 20 years. Leading companies are pushing towards a team-centric model but, for many others, team development remains ad hoc as they fail to recognize that teams hold the answers to increased effectiveness. 

Delivering improved team effectiveness across an organization does not have to be time-consuming. The Team Diagnostic Profiler (TDP) is a methodology and process that is easy to use, self-administering, and can deliver 10 to 20% improvement in team effectiveness when deployed in a corporate team strategy. This book is based on the TDP methodology and the years of research completed by the author. 

Want to read more reviews of this book or buy it? Check out the links below:

Contributor: Marion Bernstein from LID Publishing

40 points
Upvote Downvote

  1. Wow! This is the best book I’ve read that backs up the need for New Era thinking regarding TEAMs anywhere. Truly well done Simon and thank you…….

#3 Find That Perfect Gift! by Lia Manea

No Title

No Description

Easy steps to quickly find a gift for every occasion. A practical and entertaining approach to finding great gifts 

Want to read more reviews of this book or buy it? Check out the links below:

Contributor: Lia Manea

11 points
Upvote Downvote

#4 You Need a Budget by Jesse Mecham

No Title

No Description

For any 30-year-old male -- whether it's the one who just got a raise, is moving to a new city for a job, or found out his wife is pregnant again -- You Need A Budget offers the four basic principles of budgeting. Readers have learned how to sidestep saving for their kids' college funds (and still send them to college), get out of living paycheck to paycheck (or worse, get out of debt), and amass serious wealth. Mecham, a dad of six, has been heavily profiled for his novel approach to budgeting and his compatible software that goes along with the book (YNAB.com) 

Quote: This is the difference between dreaming about a better life and actually creating one. The beauty of a (good budget): it lets you see exactly how your spending affects the rest of your life. 

Want to read more reviews of this book or buy it? Check out the links below:

Contributor: Jesse Mecham from You Need a Budget (YNAB) 

#5 Principles: Life and Work by Ray Dalio

No Title

No Description

The Principles exemplifies Arianna Huffington's motto: Life-long learning is probably the greatest skill by challenging the reader to evaluate accurately, not kindly by having honest, transparent conversations, in work and life, one can learn from mistakes and turn weaknesses into strengths. 

Want to read more reviews of this book or buy it? Check out the links below:

Contributor: Gregory Poulin from Goodly

  1. Dalio’s advice in this piece seemed largely superficial and non-actionable for most people… perhaps worth reading for some though.

#10 Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance

No Title

No Description

As the title suggests, having “true grit” is a trait worth having. Angela Duckworth’s best seller has turned grit into gold as evidenced by over 8 million fans who downloaded her TED talk.

Duckworth’s philosophy on succeeding in school, business and sports are more determined by how resolute one is - not so much based on talent, luck or genetics. Learning to persevere on something that you are passionate about can help students, business leaders and athletes to achieve their goals.

Hopefully, her father has taken back his words he once uttered to her, “You’re no genius” and can now substitute it with “you done me proud, daughter!”

Want to read more reviews of this book or buy it? Check out the links below:

Contributor: Nicholas Christensen from Lottery Critic

#11 The Constitution of the United States of America

No Title

No Description

You are in your 30’s and have pushed off adulthood long enough. You’ve been voting for over a decade, maybe close to two, but have never actually read our Constitution! It’s not long, it’s not difficult, man up and get a better understanding of the most important document in Western civilization! 

Want to read more reviews of this book or buy it? Check out the links below:

Contributor: Michael Becktel 

#14 Girl, Wash Your Face by Rachel Hollis

No Title

No Description

It's a raw, inspiring, and really cool book that helped me come to terms with some of my own confidence issues and focus on what matters to me and my career. 

From the Contributor: I actually think men could benefit from reading a perspective that rings so true to the feminine challenges of 2018. It would help them see some of the real issues and be better allies to women in the workplace. 

Want to read more reviews of this book or buy it? Check out the links below:

Contributor: Emily Espinosa from PodSquad 

#15 Six Billion Shoppers by Porter Erisman

No Title

No Description

It's a game changer and a must-read for anyone but in particular men heading into big career decisions. Looking to the future and finding a place for yourself in the world could mean the difference between building an invaluable skillset or painting yourself into a corner. Read up!

Want to read more reviews of this book or buy it? Check out the links below:

Contributor: Nicholas Kinports from lonelybrand

#16 8-Bit Apocalypse: The Untold Story of Atari’s Missile Command

No Title

No Description

The Untold Story of Atari's Missile Command, Rubens takes a deep dive back forty years to profile the rise and fall of Atari, the creation of one of their most impactful games Missile Command, and just how crazy of a world it was for Gamers in the late 70s/early 80s.

Through interviews with Atari founder Nolan Bushnell and Missile Command creator Dave Theurer, gamers can finally get the full story behind one of the greatest games ever made for the first time ever and also learn about the ins and outs of the biggest gaming company to ever exist.

Want to read more reviews of this book or buy it? Check out the links below:

Contributor: Alex from MissileCommandBook

#17 Chasing the Gator: Isaac Toups and the New Cajun Cooking

No Title

No Description

Named one of the “Best Fall 2018 Cookbooks” by The New York Times and Food & Wine's Most Anticipated Fall Books , in Chasing the Gator Chef Toups, owner of Toups Meatery and Toups South in New Orleans, takes readers takes readers on a journey through Cajun Country with salty stories, tall tales and more than 100 recipes including how to make a damn fine gumbo, boudin, dirty rice, cochon de lait, and his signature double-cut pork chop and the Toups Burger. 

From axe-throwing photos and stories to his whole chapter on boucherie, this is a book full of attitude and flavor for fans of Action Bronson, Anthony Bourdain, and Paul Prudhomme. 

Chasing the Gator shows how–and what it means–to cook Cajun food today. This book makes the ideal gift for the thirty-something male, carnivore, foodie and Southern culture buff. 

Want to read more reviews of this book or buy it? Check out the links below:

Contributor: Chef Isaac Toups from Toups South

#18 CRASH: The World’s Greatest Drum Kits

No Title

No Description

Crash is a newly-released book giving readers an up-close look of drumming legends and exclusive photos of their iconic kits - a great gift for teens, dads, boyfriends, audio geeks and enthusiasts. 

The hardcover details over 60 drum kits from drummers from KISS, Black Sabbath, Van Halen, Ozzy Osbourne, Ringo Starr, and many more. Award-winning author David Frangioni has worked with many of the drummers in his career as an audio engineer, and gives a behind-the-scenes look at the drum kits, including their artistic choices, signatures, wear-and-tear, special features, etc. and the tours they appeared on, from the Super Bowl to the Tonight Show. 

Want to read more reviews of this book or buy it? Check out the links below:

Contributor: Ashley Collazo from Caster Communications

This post was created with our nice and easy submission form. Create your post!

Written by Taegan Lion